Tagged: Democratic Republic of the Congo

According to wholevehicles, Democratic Republic of the Congo is located in Central Africa and is bordered by nine countries: Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia. It has a total area of 2.3 million square kilometers and is the second largest country in Africa after Algeria. The country is mainly composed of a vast central plateau that is surrounded by mountains and plateaus to the south and west. In the east lies the Albertine Rift Valley which forms part of the Great Rift Valley system that stretches from Syria to Mozambique. The Congo River runs through much of the country from east to west and empties into the Atlantic Ocean at Matadi. This river is known for its rapids which have made it difficult to navigate in certain areas. The Congo River also serves as an important source for hydroelectric power for much of Central Africa. Located in this region are numerous national parks such as Virunga National Park which is home to mountain gorillas as well as Okapi Wildlife Reserve which contains elephants, chimpanzees and other species native to this area. Much of Democratic Republic of the Congo’s landmass consists mostly of tropical rainforest with some savanna regions located in its southern grasslands along with mountainous regions located in its eastern highlands. The climate here generally ranges from tropical with high temperatures all year round although some areas experience cooler weather due to their higher elevation such as Kinshasa which experiences cooler temperatures than other parts of DRC due to its location at an altitude of 1,300 meters above sea level. See paulfootwear for weather information in Democratic Republic of the Congo.