Connecticut State Facts, Symbols and History

Connecticut Fast Facts

Capital Hartford (Metro population) 1,188,241
(Urban population) 124,512 (2008 est.)

Population: 3,590,347 ( 2012 est.) (29th)

The Connecticut Quarter The Connecticut Quarter is the last quarter released in the 1999 series of the United States Mint’s 50 State Quarters® Programs.

Connecticut was admitted to the Union on January 9, 1788, becoming our National 5th State. The design of the quarter honors “Charter Oak”.

The Charter Oak, a majestic white oak, was the hideout for the Connecticut Charter during a heated discussion between the British representatives and the Connecticut

Language: English, others

Largest Cities: (by population) Bridgeport, New Haven, Hartford, Stamford, Waterbury, Norwalk

Name: The name Connecticut comes from the Mohican Indian word, Quinnehtukqut, meaning “Place of Long Rwer”.

Statehood: January 9, 1788 (5th state)

Symbols of Connecticut

  • Animal: sperm whale
  • Bird: American Robin
  • Flag of Connecticut
  • Flower: mountain laurel
  • Gemstone: garnet
  • Insect: praying mantis request
  • Motto: “Qui Transtulit Sustinet”
    He whom the transplanted still endures
  • Nickname: (most used)constitution state
  • Clam: oriental oyster
  • Song: “Yankee Doodle”
  • State seal
  • Wood: white oak

Connecticut is a state in the northeastern United States, part of the New England region. The capital is Hartford, the largest city is Bridgeport. Population 3,580,709 (29th in the US, 2011 data). The state’s name comes from an Algonquian expression that translates to “on a long tidal river.”

The official nickname since 1959 is Constitution State. Previously, the official nickname was Nutmeg State (Nutmeg State).

In the south, the territory of the state is washed by the waters of the Long Island Sound, in the west, Connecticut borders on the state of New York, in the north – on Massachusetts, in the east – on Rhode Island. The area of the state is 14,371 sq. km (48th place in the USA).

The territory is subdivided into eight regions, mostly (though not always) coinciding with the eight counties that make up Connecticut. The territory of the state mainly consists of forests. Closer to the south there are marshy places and sandy beaches. Connecticut’s urbanization has concentrated mainly in the Southwest of the state. In the Northeast, the terrain is more forested and agricultural.

The main official nickname of the state is due to the fact that in 1639 the British colony of Connecticut adopted the world’s first constitution – the Fundamental Orders of Connecticut.

After the American Revolutionary War, Connecticut became one of the 13 states that were the first to join the United States. Until 1875, Connecticut’s capital status alternated between Hartford and New Haven. He was then permanently assigned to Hartford.

Connecticut State Symbols

Connecticut State Facts, Symbols and History
Rate this post

You may also like...